We should have..

We should have met in a foreign city, where my name is the only word you say in our native language and the way I pronounce yours reminds you of all the reasons you miss home and none of the reasons why you left it. 
We should have met where the walk home is long enough for us to plan the night but not too long that we ditch our plans once we arrive. 
Breakfast out on weekend mornings, dinner on your couch at night and the thought of you lingering in my mind in between. 
We should have met where the sun shines but doesn’t burn, where it’s always warm but never hot and I never have to think twice before I wrap my arms around your waist. 
We should have met where we could be our whole selves, together and separately..

Leave a Reply

